Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Total Newbie - Removing Checkered Background
I'm trying to remove the checkered background and replace it with a white background.  I looked at several vids on youtube but none really explained it.  It's probably easy but I'm opening this up for the first time.  Thanks

Attached Files Image(s)

(07-16-2024, 11:35 PM)Connolly Music Creations Wrote: I'm trying to remove the checkered background and replace it with a white background.  I looked at several vids on youtube but none really explained it.  It's probably easy but I'm opening this up for the first time.  Thanks

For such a tiny image like this, detail won't really matter, thus I'll duplicate the image,
on the new layer, I'll do a vertical curve by going to Colors > Curves..., this will remove the grays by making them white

Then put that top layer in HSV Value

Patrice
I see the file you posted is a .png file. If you load it to gimp (as new picture) and the background is tranparent then you see a checkerboard in the background. Al you have to do is make a new (white) layer and put this layer below the Bolt.png picture.

Appreciate the responses.  I'll look into these.  

The other issue is that I'm trying to fit the lighting bolt into a 98 x 98 pixel space for a youtube channel, but the 98 x 98 space is a circle so both ends of the bolt are getting slightly chopped.  The original is 720 x 686 and I tried scaling that to 50% but it was still too big.  So to get that 720 original into a 98 space, how would I resize that?  Both are attached to see the chop.

Not seeing the original for some reason.  Here it is as a comparison.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Image(s)