![]() |
Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - Printable Version +- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net) +-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP) +--- Forum: Extending the GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-Extending-the-GIMP) +--- Thread: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? (/Thread-Gimp-3-Python-Script-Merge-Visible-No-Flatten-Image) |
Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - silenuznowan - 03-31-2025 Not sure if this is a problem with the documentation or if it's a bug, maybe someone here can shed some light. I'm converting my Gimp 2 scripts to Gimp 3 and noticed that in v3 there is a new merge type listed in the docs for the description of: gimp-image-merge-visible-layers Under the parameters it lists: Quote:The type of merge { EXPAND-AS-NECESSARY (0), CLIP-TO-IMAGE (1), CLIP-TO-BOTTOM-LAYER (2), FLATTEN-IMAGE (3) }, default EXPAND-AS-NECESSARY (0) However calling gimp-image-merge-visible-layers , like so: Code: layer = merge_visible(img, Gimp.MergeType.FLATTEN_IMAGE) Where merge_visible looks like this: Code: def merge_visible(image: Gimp.Image, merge_type: Gimp.MergeType = Gimp.MergeType.EXPAND_AS_NECESSARY)->Gimp.Layer: However this results in an error: Quote:GIMP-Error: Calling error for procedure 'gimp-image-merge-visible-layers': Thanks, Jordan RE: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - Ofnuts - 04-01-2025 You can use image.flatten(). RE: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - silenuznowan - 04-01-2025 Thanks but I'm not trying to flatten an image. I was porting my code and noticed that the python console browser listed a new option for the gimp-image-merge-visible-layers procedure, so I thought I'd experiment and try the new option just to see the results, however whether passing the enum value of Gimp.MergeType.FLATTEN_IMAGE or just an int value of 3, I get the error above. So my question was whether this looks like a bug in Gimp or an error in the documentation. RE: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - MrsP-from-C - 04-01-2025 layer = Gimp.Image.merge_visible_layers(img, Gimp.MergeType.CLIP_TO_IMAGE) RE: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - silenuznowan - 04-01-2025 I'm not trying to do something specific, I'm trying to determine if there is a bug in gimp so I can report it or if there's an error in the documentation so I can report it, well if possible. Screenshot should be here but it says too much data even though it's just 26k Look at the Gimp 3 python browser, look up merge-visible-layers. Note the parameters for merge type. Note also there is an enum value in the MergeType object called FLATTEN_IMAGE However passing that enum value, or the equivalent integer shown in the browser documentation, the result is the following error. Quote:GIMP-Error: Calling error for procedure 'gimp-image-merge-visible-layers': So it would seem either the docs are incorrect or there is a bug. RE: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - Ofnuts - 04-01-2025 (04-01-2025, 02:47 PM): silenuznowan Wrote: I'm not trying to do something specific, I'm trying to determine if there is a bug in gimp so I can report it or if there's an error in the documentation so I can report it, well if possible. You are inferring that because an API accepts an enumeration, all the values of the enumeration are valid for the API. This is not true. There are other examples: Gimp.context_set_paint_mode () takes a Gimp.LayerMode, and so does Gimp.Layer.set_mode(). But Gimp.Layer.set_mode() won't accept Gimp.LayerMode.BEHIND or Gimp.LayerMode.BEHIND_LEGACY that can only be used for painting, and presumably neither of them will accept Gimp.LayerMode.REPLACE which is specific to GEGL filters. RE: Gimp 3 Python Script - Merge Visible - No Flatten Image? - silenuznowan - 04-01-2025 (04-01-2025, 09:24 PM)Ofnuts Wrote:(04-01-2025, 02:47 PM): silenuznowan Wrote: I'm not trying to do something specific, I'm trying to determine if there is a bug in gimp so I can report it or if there's an error in the documentation so I can report it, well if possible. I'm not inferring anything, the documents explicitly state it as a valid parameter for MergeType. That's the point. |