Scripts do not appear in menu - Printable Version +- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net) +-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP) +--- Forum: General questions (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-General-questions) +--- Thread: Scripts do not appear in menu (/Thread-Scripts-do-not-appear-in-menu) |
Scripts do not appear in menu - MQ95 - 02-04-2021 Hi, i'm using Gimp 2.10 on ubuntu-based linux. I'm trying to follow this guide on how to get started with GIMP scripting, but when I save the .py file in the scripts folder or the plug-ins folders nothing happens. When I restart GIMP I don't see the option to run that script in the menu. I've also tried downloading other scripts from the internet, put them in the scripts folder and plug-ins folder, and same thing, they don't appear in the menu. Am I doing something wrong? This is the script's code, which I copied from the tutorial: Code: #!/usr/bin/python It's from 2017, so maybe it's not compatible anymore? Thanks for the help guys. RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - tmanni - 02-04-2021 Run gimp from a terminal, with verbose mode, you should have some infos about the issue: Code: $ gimp --verbose RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - Kevin - 02-04-2021 It seems to work for me: [attachment=5566] BUT note that python scripts must go into plug-ins AND on Linux they must be marked as executable RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - MQ95 - 02-04-2021 (02-04-2021, 02:26 PM)tmanni Wrote: Run gimp from a terminal, with verbose mode, you should have some infos about the issue: Thanks, I managed to get some more info: This Hello World plugin terminates like this: Code: Querying plug-in: '/home/mq/.config/GIMP/2.10/plug-ins/hello_world.py' The other plugin that I got from the internet does this instead: Code: Querying plug-in: '/home/mq/.config/GIMP/2.10/plug-ins/ofn-preset-guides.py' I'm not very familiar with programming, just the bases, but does this mean that i'm missing some Python package or library? Does anybody know how to fix it? Thanks! RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - tmanni - 02-04-2021 First, ensure your script files have "execution" permission: Code: $ chmod +x /home/mq/.config/GIMP/2.10/plug-ins/hello_world.py RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - MQ95 - 02-04-2021 (02-04-2021, 03:04 PM)tmanni Wrote: First, ensure your script files have "execution" permission: Thank you. They already had permission, but I run the commands anyways. However I get the same results: Code: Querying plug-in: '/home/mq/.config/GIMP/2.10/plug-ins/ofn-preset-guides.py' Intuitively, the cause of the error might be in this line: Code: /usr/bin/env: ‘python’: No such file or directory But I really don't know, I'm no expert. Do you have any idea? Again, thank you very much RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - Ofnuts - 02-04-2021 You need to have 1. Python v2 installed (so that the shebang #! /usr/bin/env python serves its purpose) 2. The Python support installed in Gimp. It used to be a gimp-python package, but since Ubuntu 20.04 it's no longer there. See here for a fix. RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - tmanni - 02-04-2021 Are the native python plugins provided by gimp working as expected ? You can try with Export Histogram: 1) run gimp from terminal with --verbose 2) load or import an image 3) menu Colors > Info > Export Histogram... RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - rich2005 - 02-04-2021 I see Ofnuts post and confirm. Using (k)ubuntu 18.04 A bit strange, In a Gimp 2.10 14 the script works OOTB but a Gimp 2.10.22 appimage, different (older) python 2.7 version required a shebang #!/usr/bin/env python As Kevin test work here. [attachment=5567] @ MQ95 Which version of 'buntu and Gimp 2.10? If 'buntu 20.04 then python support for Gimp 2.10 is not included. Look in the Filters menu for the Python-fu entry. It can be added see: https://www.gimp-forum.net/Thread-Heal-Selection-Missing-from-Gimp-on-Ubuntu-20-04?pid=18354#pid18354 Alternatives: Use the Gimp flatpak version or Use a Gimp Appimage both include a working python 2.7 RE: Scripts do not appear in menu - MQ95 - 02-04-2021 (02-04-2021, 03:41 PM)Ofnuts Wrote: You need to have Thanks, I tried that but some file links gave me a 404, and some .deb I downloaded couldn't be installed because of dependency issues. (02-04-2021, 03:54 PM)rich2005 Wrote: I see Ofnuts post and confirm. Solved! I installed the flatpak, and it works correctly now. It's just a bit of a mess since flatpak isn't supported by default by Kubuntu I'm on Kubuntu 20.10 by the way (latest version) That maybe the problem. Thanks to everyone who helped! |