Gimp-Forum.net
Script to detect and select simple shapes? - Printable Version

+- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net)
+-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP)
+--- Forum: Extending the GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-Extending-the-GIMP)
+--- Thread: Script to detect and select simple shapes? (/Thread-Script-to-detect-and-select-simple-shapes)

Script to detect and select simple shapes? - tomatoSauce23 - 09-22-2024

I'd like a plugin to be able to detect and then select simple shapes in a layer or image. So there is a green square in lots of pictures I'm processing and I have to mark them every time they occur, so I do this manually using the Rectangle tool. The squares are always of a similar size and colour. Is there a plugin that could detect squares within a certain size-range and colour-range and then select them? If not, how difficult would it be to write a script like that, given that I have some programming experience but not in Python?

RE: Script to detect and select simple shapes? - Ofnuts - 09-22-2024

I remember answering that question yesterday on GimpChat?

RE: Script to detect and select simple shapes? - PixLab - 09-22-2024

(09-22-2024, 07:08 AM)Ofnuts Wrote: I remember answering that question yesterday on GimpChat?

I saw nothing on GC about that Wink

RE: Script to detect and select simple shapes? - tomatoSauce23 - 09-22-2024

(09-22-2024, 07:08 AM)Ofnuts Wrote: I remember answering that question yesterday on GimpChat?

Hi, this problem is interfering I think...

Ok, so the question you are asking is a typical one for computer vision, so maybe you should learn Python (which is very easy if you already have programming experience) and check the openCV library.

With Gimp, I would try this:
  • The color selection can use a RGB color but also tint, hue, saturation, lightness, or any of the RGB channels, all with a threshold.