Gimp-Forum.net
GIMP will never be what PS is until these things are fixed - Printable Version

+- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net)
+-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP)
+--- Forum: General questions (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-General-questions)
+--- Thread: GIMP will never be what PS is until these things are fixed (/Thread-GIMP-will-never-be-what-PS-is-until-these-things-are-fixed)

Pages: 1 2

GIMP will never be what PS is until these things are fixed - Photoshopsince2000 - 10-09-2024

I would like to make a few suggestions to the developers, but I'm not sure the best place or line of contact to do so. Any idea how I could reach out to them?

I've been using Photoshop since 2000 or v5.0/6.0. There are two things that made Photoshop the standard. How it's selections work, and how it's layers work.
This mentality when someone says, "Gimp is not like Photoshop", people often respond back and say, "GIMP is not trying to be like Photoshop" I say that's a poor excuse. Photoshop is an industry standard because it is the best - Period - End of story.

I love what GIMP is doing, and I really would love to get away from Adobe. I think software as a service is only going to harm Adobe in the long run as students find alternative to subscriptions, they are shrinking their base of users in the long run, and it's expensive for something you don't own. 

But GIMP still feels inefficient to me and I say this because I care and I want GIMP to succeed.