Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can I print multiple projects on one sheet?
So I'm a super newbie at using GIMP, or any image software for that matter. I just got into making guitar effect pedals and am using GIMP to make the graphics to print onto waterslide paper. I've made one pedal successfully but I pretty much just used a GIMP tutorial and stumbled my way through it. Now I have two more designs made up and my logo and want to print them on one waterslide page. I have printed the 3 separate designs and checked for proper sizing on my pedal enclosure and it's a perfect fit. Last time I'm pretty sure I just copy and pasted from each project onto full sheet size project and printed and it was fine. This time I tried that and the images are coming out a little too big and won't line up with my enclosure.

Here is a picture of my first pedal so you can see what I am talking about. I also put my logo and name on the bottom side under the footswitch.

Quote:...snip...This time I tried that and the images are coming out a little too big and won't line up with my enclosure.

This comes up often. First some general stuff. 
While Gimp is a raster editor and works in pixels, printing is the one time where inches or millimeters comes into play.
The default page sizes in Gimp, A4 , USLetter... come with a printing resolution of 300 pixels-per-inch (ppi)
Drop (copy/paste or open as layer) an image and it takes the ppi property from the canvas.
Windows Gimp is not great for printing and it is not the whole story, there is also the printer manufacturers software to consider.

Assuming metric units and A4, your transfer paper might be USLetter, principle is the same.
It is unusual for the print to be larger, more often the print shrinks due to an A4 image not fitting on an A4 sheet of paper. However:

Example 1.

Two images each correct size and 300 ppi dropped into an A4 canvas. Due to margins imposed the printing resolution is not 300 ppi.